RSS Feed

Candied Cinnamon Sugar Almonds

candied sugar cinnamon almonds in the slow cookerLast year my sister turned me on to Dimples and Tangles: CANDIED CINNAMON SUGAR ALMONDS.  This year for the holidays I got around to making them myself.  I enjoyed just about the whole batch myself.  I was inspired by their recipe but reduced the sugar and salt amount.

I can’t control myself around these delicious candied nuts. They make a great alternative to cookies to give away during the holidays.  I did share a few but was more than guilty of eating most of them myself over a few weeks time.

The best part of this recipe is they are made in the slow cooker or crockpot.  You do have to stir them often so they are not to be forgotten in the pot.  Another plus would be the wonderful fragrance your home is filled with as these cook.  You will be ready to steal a few before too long.

My kids also love these almonds which is good because almonds are healthy.  Okay, maybe not when covered in sugar but I am not one to nit pick.  In fact my 2-year-old was caught up on the counter numerous times eating them out of the plastic bag.  He couldn’t help himself they are that good!

Candied Cinnamon Sugar Almonds:

  •  1 egg white
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 3 1/2-4 cups raw almonds
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon
  • 2 Tbs butter, in chunks

Whisk together egg white, vanilla, and sea salt in a large bowl.

Add the almonds and stir until coated.

Candied Sugar and Cinnamon Nuts in Slow cooker

Turn the slow cooker to high heat and add in the chunks of butter.

In a separate bowl combine sugar and cinnamon.  Once combined add to almonds and again stir until coated.

Pour the coated nuts onto the butter and add the lid.

Cook on high for 2 hours stirring every 20-25 minutes, more often at the end so they do not burn.

Pour hot nuts on to a few sheets of wax paper to cool.  Break apart if needed.

Store in an airtight container or bag.
//

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

