RSS Feed

Vanilla Magic Cake

Vanilla Magic CakeI was so intrigued over Magic Cake | Kitchen Nostalgia, I mean three layers one batter?  This recipe has been on my list of desserts for a while.  After tasting it I am sure it will be made more often.  I was headed to a planned dinner and was asked to bring a dessert at the last-minute.  Magic cake contained ingredients on hand and seemed easy enough.

Bringing dessert is always my dream because my list of things to try goes on and on.  How many desserts can one family eat?  I rarely make dessert unless we are attending an event or having company so the recipes to try add up quickly.

Magic cake was easily assembled and placed in the oven.  The longest point is allowing it to cool fully.  I was so nervous because I hadn’t made it before and was taking it some where.  Usually I know if something will turn out, to be honest I didn’t have confidence in the three layers turning out.

After the cake filling the pan to the brim and watching it puff up as if it was a souffle, I wasn’t sure what I got myself into.  Of course as I took it out of the oven it deflated and started the long cooling process.  I only had two hours when the recipe required three hours.  After the two hours the cake came out nicely on a plate and I allowed it to cool the last hour during the drive and dinner.  At this point I still had no idea if this cake was going to turn out.  It looked great and smelled great, then it came the time to slice and serve.  With the first slice much to my surprise it had three layers and yelled out with joy.

I served the cake and my family had the first bites.  They loved it, almost as much as I did when I finally got a  chance to have a piece.  It tasted almost like custard but with some cake like texture to it.  It was a wonderful and light dessert.  Next time I will serve it with fresh berries or a berry sauce.  Alone it was great as well.  I can’t wait to try different flavors of magic cake!

Magic Cake:Vanilla Magic Cake

  • 4 eggs, separated at room temperature
  • 1 Tbs water
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups milk, lukewarm
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • sprinkle of powdered sugar, if desired

Beat egg whites until stiff peak forms, set aside.

In another bowl mix egg yolks and sugar until combined.  Stir in water and vanilla until light in color.

Add the melted butter to the yolk mixture and beat another minute or so, last but not least add the milk and beat until combined.

Fold the egg whites into the yolk mixture about a third at a time until combined.  A few small bits of egg white is fine just no large clumps.

Pour into a lightly greased 8×8″ round cake pan.  It is fill it to the very brim, do  not worry.

Vanilla Magic Cake

Bake in a preheated oven at 325 degrees for about 60 minutes.  It will puff and should have the slightest shake in the center when done.  It will deflate when cooling and this is also ok.

Vanilla Magic Cake

Cool 2-3 hours in pan, turn out onto a plate.

Vanilla Magic Cake

Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired or serve with berries.

Vanilla Magic Cake


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

