RSS Feed

Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Once again I needed a dessert to bring to a dinner, Thibeault’s Table: Blueberry Upside Down Cake was the recipe of choice that day.  Two reasons it was on my list of recipes to try and I had all the ingredients on hand.  I selected the right dessert because this turned out great.

This cake could pass as a coffee cake and I would probably serve for brunch.  The berries were a great combo with the somewhat cinnamon flavored cake.  The cake was not to sweet and not dry.  When I left the event I took the first few slices home and left the remaining.  I received a call to say my tray was clean and every bit of dessert was gone.

All those berries I so diligently picked and froze all summer are finally paying off.  I have made some great desserts lately with frozen berries.  I am so glad to enjoy a bit of summer in the dead of winter.  Berries just make me happy!

Blueberry Upside Down CakeBlueberry Upside Down Cake:

  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen
  • 1 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder

In a 9″ square cake pan prepare by lightly greasing or spraying with baking spray.

Combine melted butter and brown sugar.  Spread evenly on the bottom of the pan.

Sprinkle the sugar layer with the berries and sprinkle those with the lemon juice.

Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Meanwhile for the cake:

Cream butter and sugar until light.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.

Sift together the salt, cinnamon, flour, and baking powder.

Alternate adding the dry ingredients and milk to the butter mixture.  Mix until smooth.

Spread the cake batter over the blueberries evenly.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes.

Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Let cool completely and turn out onto a platter or plate.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

One response »

  1. Looks great! I love anything with blueberries, so I know that this cake would be a hit in our house! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

