RSS Feed

Citrus Marinated Flank Steak

Rarely do I ever feel the need to prepare red meat or want to eat it.  Something inside of me was craving flank steak.  My grandparents had prepared us some wonderful marinated flank steak the last time we were visiting.  Mr.Picky was a fan of this great flank steak, even though he is often not a fan of this cut of meat.

Looking for my recipe I was given, I was having no luck.  I searched everywhere for my disc full of recipes and could not find it.  Somewhere in our move I lost it, well not lost but put it somewhere special.  I remember just before we moved I came across it in an odd spot and put it somewhere for safe keeping.  I don’t often misplace things and searched every logical place.  One day I will find it.

Until I find it I found this recipe for Citrus Marinated Flank Steak.  The flavors seemed similar to what we ate and I figured it would do until I can get my hands on the right recipe.  This recipe turned out great, not quite as much flavor as I was expecting even after I  marinated it longer.  Mr.Picky approved and said I could prepare it again.

Marinated Flank SteakMarinated Flank Steak:

  • Juice of 1 orange
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic,crushed
  • 1 Tbs chipotle chili powder (I used regular so the kids could eat it)
  • 3 Tbs cilantro
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 lb. Flank steak

Score steak on both sides.

Place all ingredients besides the stead in a jar or blender, blend with an immersion blender until smooth.

Place steak in a plastic bag and pour in marinade.  Allow to marinade at room temperature for 2 hours.  Or overnight in the refrigerator.

Prepare the grill until high heat is reached and the coals are red hot.  Grill about 3-4 minutes on each side.  Move away from direct heat and cook another 10 minutes longer.  Meat should reach about 145 degrees.  This process took us a bit longer because we were cooking in the snow.

Remove meat to a cutting board, cover in foil and allow to rest for 10 minutes before slicing.  Slice meat against the grain in thin strips to serve.

Marinated Flank Steak
//

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

