RSS Feed

Almond Joy Cookies

Almond Joy CookiesHow good does Sweet Pea’s Kitchen » Almond Joy Cookies sound?  Well they are worth the calories and taste just if not more satisfying as one of my favorite candy bars.  The cookies have the perfect crunch to chew ratio.  I am thinking they would be really good turned into ice cream sandwiches come summer time.

I will admit the one of my few food weaknesses are cookies.  I can’t seem to help myself if they are in the house.  Store bought cookies are easy to turn away but homemade cookies are the best.  Homemade cookies are particularly hard to resist if they are hot from the oven (I like them gooey).

Mr.Picky on the other hand enjoys himself a cookie (as long as it has no nuts) but they must have cooled completely.  Warm dessert is my favorite and something Mr.Picky finds unappetizing.  Mr.Picky’s one exception to the hot dessert rule is my homemade cinnamon rolls, which he will reheat for day.

As I sit here typing I am enjoying myself an afternoon cookie and for once pleased Mr.Picky is not around.  Not often I get to enjoy nuts in my dessert.  Enjoy one for me and keep on baking.

Almond Joy Cookies:Almond Joy Cookies

Yields about 2 dozen

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar,lightly packed
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract (I didn’t have any so I left it out)
  • 1 cup shredded or flaked coconut
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup almonds,finely chopped

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Sift flour,baking soda, and pinch of salt together.  Set aside.

Cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy.

Beat in egg, vanilla, and almond extract.

Add in dry ingredients until just combined.

Stir in coconut, almonds, and chocolate chips until incorporated.

Almond Joy Cookies

Drop on a baking sheet in about 1-2 Tbs size balls (a scoop works well)

Bake 18-20 minutes until just set, allow to cool on cookie sheet 3-5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack.

 


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

