RSS Feed

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Earlier that day I had been near the store when Mr.Picky messaged me to pick up a can of pineapple chucks.  I did as he asked but was confused because Mr.Picky does not like canned pineapple and I was curious to know what he was making.  I was headed to play my monthly game of Bunco.    Mr.Picky offered to prepare dinner for him and the kids.  I don’t usually leave until after dinner and I usually wait to eat until I get to Bunco.

He went on the faithful Allrecipes and found Waikiki Meatballs Recipe.  I was shocked and so was he that he was making sweet and sour meatballs.  He does not like hot pineapple or sweet and sour sauce.  Like a good dad he figured the kids would love it.  Well it turned out great and both Mr.Picky and the kids enjoyed it.  He was so proud of his homemade meatballs.  I ended up eating two dinners that night because of course I needed to sample Mr.Picky’s cooking.  This will continue into the dinner rotation of recipes.

We slightly altered the recipe because the bell peppers needed to be cooked just a bit more.  I would add a bit more vinegar as it was a bit sweet for me.  But it was still great and could be left as is.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs:

  • Sweet and Sour Meatballs1 1/2 pound lean ground beef
  • 2/3 cup saltine cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 cup minced onion
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 Tbs corn starch
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 (15 oz.) can pineapple chunks, juice drained and reserved
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce or amino acids
  • 1/3 cup green bell pepper, chopped (we chopped it large so the kids could pick it out)

In a bowl combine beef, crackers, onion, milk, egg, ginger, and salt mix until evenly incorporated.

Scoop meat into even size balls 1-2 Tbs of meat per ball.

Heat olive oil in a medium heat skillet and brown meatballs until cooked through.  Add the green peppers into cook the last few minutes of cooking on the meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Drain any fat if there is any.

In a small bowl combine cornstarch, sugar, pineapple juice, vinegar, and soy sauce until smooth.

Pour the sauce over the meatballs and continue to cook and stir about 5 minutes until sauce has thickened.

Add the pineapple chunks and continue to heat through.

Serve over white or brown rice.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

//

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

