RSS Feed

Sweet Potato Casserole

My Grandmother started making this Sweet Potato Casserole recipe at least 5 years ago for Thanksgiving.  It has turned into such a favorite the pan is almost licked clean.  My daughter will usually eat as much as I will give and then a second helping.  We no longer prepare the sweet potatoes any other way for the holidays.

I find myself making it throughout the year as dessert for my kids.  I have yet to get Mr.Picky to like sweet potatoes of any kind.  We were headed to my family’s for dinner where I was preparing a somewhat Thanksgiving flavored dinner.  I had extra sweet potatoes to use up and thought this would be the perfect side dish to the meal.  Although we serve it as a side it has enough sugar and butter to be a dessert, this is probably why it is the best.

In my pictures I made the recipe just as my Grandmother wrote the recipe.  When I got to her and said how come mine doesn’t look like yours?  She stated that she had increased the flour amount in the topping which makes it more of a crumb and better.  I have revised the recipe to the correct flour amount so if your picture looks different it is ok.

Sweet Potato CasseroleSweet Potato Casserole:

  • 6 large sweet potatoes or yams- peel after steaming and mash well
  • 3 Tbs butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Topping:

  • 5 Tbs melted butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 5 Tbs flour
  • 1/4-1/2 cup pecans or walnuts, chopped

After steaming the sweet potatoes until tender, remove the peel and mash well.  Add in the butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla.  Continue to mash until well combined and almost completely smooth.

Spread potatoes in a 9×13″ glass baking dish.

Combine topping ingredients and spread over the sweet potatoes.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes until topping is caramelized and potatoes are heated through.


style=”display:inline-block;width:468px;height:60px”
data-ad-client=”ca-pub-3737982169142034″
data-ad-slot=”4657754308″>
//

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

