RSS Feed

Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe

Fresh Rhubarb PieMr.Picky was in need of a rhubarb pie, so I went to my favorite recipe Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe – Allrecipes.com.  This tastes like a million bucks and always turns out perfect.  If you have crust already made it takes maybe 10 minutes to put together.

I love the tartness of rhubarb against a flaky crust and a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream.  Ice cream is not my favorite but some dessert require ice cream and this is one of them.  Rhubarb is one of my favorite vegetables and I can’t wait to try a bunch of new savory recipes I came across.

Rhubarb Pie:

  • 1 recipe of a 9 inch double crust, I would recommend my never fail pie crust recipe
  • 4-5 cups rhubarb, chopped
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 6 Tbs flour
  • 1 Tbs butter

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Roll out first pie crust and place in a 9 inch pie plate.

Combine sugar and flour, and sprinkle the bottom crust with 1/4 of the mixture.

Add the chopped rhubarb and sprinkle evenly with the remaining sugar and flour mixture.

Dot the pie with small pieces of butter and cover with top crust.  Slice a few 2-3 inch marks on top of crust for steam to escape.

Place pie on lowest rack of oven, and bake for 15 minutes.

Reduce heat on oven to 350 degrees and continue baking for 40-45 minutes.

Serve warm or cold with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream.
// <![CDATA[

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

// ]]>

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

