Broccoli with Garlic Butter Sauce

Who loves broccoli, well just about everyone I grew up with.  I have three sisters, and my mom tells people this story all the time.  We used to fight over broccoli and get mad when we thought someone was taking more than their fair share.  Needless to say, I still love broccoli and eat it often.  Mr.Picky well lets just say is not fond, and can’t even handle when I cook it.  So I was on a mission to find a recipe he would at least try.  This was the results, after I modified a recipe off of Allrecipes.com.  Garlic is our friend and even the kids love broccoli this way.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter Sauce:Broccoli with Garlic Butter Sauce

  • 1 1/2 lbs. of broccoli, florets
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 3 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs brown sugar
  • 2 Tbs white vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 4-5 cloves garlic, minced

Steam broccoli until just tender.

While steaming in a small bowl mix soy sauce, brown sugar, vinegar, pepper,garlic and  set aside.

Drain and transfer broccoli to a large bowl.

In the pot you just used for broccoli melt butter and add the small bowl of sauce.  Bring to a boil and cook for about a minute.  Pour on top of broccoli, and toss together.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a comment