Chicken Stir-Fry with Yakisoba Noodles

Asian inspired food is my favorite.  Stir-fry is one of the simplest, healthiest dinners one can do.   My picky husband is not one for vegetables, or Asian flavor.  This is a recipe he seems to not mind, and I find tasty.   I this is probably the 4th time I have made this recipe, it has been an extra popular with the kids who cleaned their bowls vegetables and all.  If it was just me, I would be eating just the chicken and stir fried vegetables.  But for those none vegetable lovers in my family, if I add Yakisoba noodles to the dish then they are more willing to eat it.

Chicken Stir-Fry with Bok Choy and Peppers

Sauce:

Mix all together and set aside.

  • 1/3 Cup chicken or vegetable broth
  • 2 Tbs soy sauce (I use light)
  • 1 Tbs cooking sherry
  • 1 Tbs oyster sauce
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp corn starch

Chicken:

Combine all into a bowl and set aside.

  • 2 Chicken Breasts, thinly sliced into strips
  • 1 Tbs corn starch
  • 2 Tbs sesame oil
  • 1 Tbs flour
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce (I use light)
  • 1 Tbs cooking sherry
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 Tbs fresh ginger, grated finely ( I use my micro-plane)

Vegetables:

  • 1 head of Bok choy, stems and leaves separated (thinly slice both keeping them separate)
  • 2 sweet bell peppers, thinly sliced in strips (use less or more depending on your taste)
  • 1/2 a large onion, thinly sliced

In a large skillet, saute over med-high in 1 Tbs. olive oil Bok choy stems, peppers, and onions.  Cook until just starting to soften.  Add Bok choy leaves, and continue to cook a minute more until just wilted.  Transfer  vegetable to a large bowl.

Stir-Fry Vegetables

In the same skillet add chicken and brown.  I add about a third of my chicken at a time as to not crowd it, you don’t want to steam it you want to saute it.  I transfer the cooked chicken as it gets done to the bowl with the vegetables.  If you wish you can stop at this point and return chicken and vegetables to the pan, and pour sauce over all and cook 1 min. more tossing well with tongs.

If you want to add Yakisoba noodles, finish cooking chicken and place chicken in the bowl with vegetables.  Rinse the packaged Yakisoba noodles under hot water in a colander, until loosened up.  Place noodles in the skillet and fry with 1 Tbs. olive oil for about 5 min.  Add vegetables and chicken to the noodles, and pour sauce over everything.  Continue to cook 1 min. more tossing well with tongs.

DSCN0867

Enjoy!

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a comment